I Pledge Allegiance…


“I pledge allegiance, to the flag, of the United States of America. And to the republic, for which it stands, one nation, under God, indivisible, with liberty and justice for all.”
Does anyone see anything wrong with that? I certainly do. If you don’t, please reread the part “one nation, under God, with liberty, and justice for all.” If that was the case, everyone would have equal rights and no one would be treated like they were less of a person due to something they can’t change.

Let’s start with homosexuality. If we were one nation with liberty and justice for all, wouldn’t gay people have liberty and justice too? Well let’s face the truth..they don’t. In the past year there have been 8 gay teens that committed suicide due to not having liberty and justice. Homosexuals are treated like they are lower than the rest of us, when they are really not. Just because they like the same sex, doesn’t mean that they are any different from straight people. It isn’t like they just decided “Oh, I’m going to like someone of the same sex today.” They were born like that, and can’t change it. Honestly it shouldn’t matter if they like someone of the same sex or not.

Homosexuals aren’t the only people who don’t have liberty and justice though. The mentally challenged people also suffer from this. If you are mentally challenged, you were born like that. There’s nothing you can do about it. Yet day after day people think badly of you due to something you can’t change. The mentally challenged children and adults are thought of so much differently than the people who aren’t, and it is so wrong. If I had a say, everyone would be treated equally with dignity and respect.

When I think of these things, it makes me not want to say the pledge of allegiance. It makes me almost want to not get up in class to say it. If everyone DID have liberty and justice, I certainly wouldn’t feel this way, but truth be told, not everyone does. But we can change if we start with ourselves. So next time you go to make someone due to a mental handicap, or their sexuality, think twice. It shouldn’t happen, but it does, and you can help if you stick up for what is right and don’t fall into the vortex of bullies.

Mood: undecided. mostly tired.
Reading: Boot Camp AND The Lost Hero
Listening to: Never Grow up by Taylor Swift
Drinking: water
Eating: Beef Jerkey(:

About music12301

I am an avid reader and writer. I love to blog about just about anything in the world that I think of. My blogs can be completely random or well thought out and planned, but never the less, they are all my own. I also love to sing and act and music is a big part of my life. I played the flute for 6 years and I also played the piccolo when it was needed in band. I recently began learning how to play the oboe and I love it. I plan to go to college for music and theater.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

