Blood Drive


There was a blood drive at my school today and I figured I would donate because needles don’t bother me at all and I don’t mind blood. I was there all day because I was helping out for student council and I decided I would give blood after lunch. I filled out all the forms and everything and I went in to have my glucose level and blood pressure taken and the first question they ask is height and weight. I kind of wondered why they don’t measure and weigh you there, but okay, I guess they can just ask and trust you. I told them I’m 4’10” and around 125lbs but I’m not exactly sure. Turns out, I didn’t meet the qualifications to donate blood. If you are between the ages of 16 and 22 and you want to donate blood and you are my height, you have to be at least 146 lbs.

Out of curiosity I calculated the bmi for someone my height and that weight. That would fall under the category of obesity. Isn’t it better for someone who isn’t obese to give blood? I know I shouldn’t assume, but isn’t that just giving a greater risk for complications? I don’t know how that works, but I guess if that’s how it works I’ll just deal with it. I’ll keep trying until I’m 22 and can do it as long as I’m over 110 lbs, but I guess next time I should ask why it is like that.

About music12301

I am an avid reader and writer. I love to blog about just about anything in the world that I think of. My blogs can be completely random or well thought out and planned, but never the less, they are all my own. I also love to sing and act and music is a big part of my life. I played the flute for 6 years and I also played the piccolo when it was needed in band. I recently began learning how to play the oboe and I love it. I plan to go to college for music and theater.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

