What People Don’t Understand About Contact Lenses


I wear contact lenses and have worn them for the past 3 years or so. I have realized there are SO many things people who don’t wear lenses don’t understand and they can’t seem to wrap their heads around some of this stuff. My dad definitely doesn’t understand some of the things I am about to mention.

Yes. I do have multiple brands and types of lens solution and YES I do need them all.
I have multiple cases and types of contact solutions at any given time. I use them all for different reasons and at different times. Some are different brands too. I have a hydrogen peroxide cleaner, which has its own special case because it has a neutralizer at the bottom (it looks like a little cage), I have two different saline solutions because one of them is in a little travel sized bottle and one of them is in a big bottle. I need to have both because I need the little travel sized bottles for school or when I am going somewhere so I am not carrying a giant bottle of solution with me all over the place.

The solution is on sale, or I have a coupon, I AM buying it!
Contact solution can be VERY expensive. If you have a really good coupon or it is on sale, you are going to buy it. Anything that can save you money with contacts is something you want to take advantage of. This is another reason I have multiple brands and types of contact solution. I’m just not going to pass up an offer of money off when it comes to care for my contacts.

If I say I need to go take them out there is a reason!
If I suddenly NEED to take my lenses out there is definitely a reason. Sometimes lenses get very uncomfortable or they start to get cloudy. It just means they need to be taken out and cleaned for a while. It isn’t because I just feel like interrupting you, I just can’t concentrate on anything you are saying because my eyes are bothering me so much.

There IS a difference between brands of lenses BESIDES the price per box.
I know they make hundreds of brands of lenses, but the price isn’t the point. The lenses could be $5 a box, but if they are uncomfortable I’m not going to buy them. This is why you have to get your lenses online. If you go on a site like 1800contacts.com you will get your lenses a lot cheaper than if you get them at the eye doctors office. There is a difference in the ways different companies manufacture their lenses. The edges on a lot of lenses are different and some types of lenses irritate certain people’s eyes. It is all a trial and error process.

I have TWO eyes so I need TWO boxes.
If my eyes were both the same prescription I could buy just one box and use that but they aren’t so I can’t. This is something so many people just don’t get. I have a box for my LEFT eye and a box for my RIGHT eye. No, I can not use them for both eyes, they are not interchangeable, my eyes are different prescriptions. 

Hopefully this cleared up a few things for some people that don’t wear lenses. Maybe this cleared up a few things for people that do wear them also.

About music12301

I am an avid reader and writer. I love to blog about just about anything in the world that I think of. My blogs can be completely random or well thought out and planned, but never the less, they are all my own. I also love to sing and act and music is a big part of my life. I played the flute for 6 years and I also played the piccolo when it was needed in band. I recently began learning how to play the oboe and I love it. I plan to go to college for music and theater.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

