Dorm Life Blogging A-Z


If I’m being honest, dorm life is quite a bit different than I thought it would be
I expected to have friends in my hall, to love my RA, and to basically be in a great community. Well,  news flash, living on an all freshman floor is awful.

When I requested housing last year I specifically requested to NOT be on an all freshman floor,  but I ended up stuck there anyway. Next year I’m living on an all girls floor to hopefully get away from some of the male related issues I’m currently dealing with so that should be good.

Here are some things you should be aware of before you stay your first night in your new dorm:

It will be loud. When I say loud, I mean you will be able to hear people in their room from about 5 doors down. Some people have no courtesy.  Even though there are quiet hours in place and 24 hour courtesy hours, they probably won’t be strictly enforced. But if you care at all about other people you will keep your music down and not run up and down the hallway screeming at 2 in the morning.

People are dirty.  There are sinks in our hallway, and although there are 4 sinks in each bathroom people still brush their teeth in the hall sinks and leave their spit everywhere. There is also always a sink full of noodles that make the entire hall smell. I don’t understand why people can’t clean up after themselves. But your guess is as good as mine.

Your RA might not be as helpful as you would like. Every time I have had a problem that I needed to talk to my RA about he told me to talk to the RA on call. This is not helpful to me at all. Also, my floor has two RAs and neither is a female so I’m glad I haven’t had an issue where I would need one.

I’m not saying living in a dorm is awful. I love living with my roommate (who happens to be my best friend from high school). And it’s nice to live on your own. I’m still going to be in a dorm next year,  so it’s not like I hated it so much I’m never doing it again, I just think you need to be prepared (:

About music12301

I am an avid reader and writer. I love to blog about just about anything in the world that I think of. My blogs can be completely random or well thought out and planned, but never the less, they are all my own. I also love to sing and act and music is a big part of my life. I played the flute for 6 years and I also played the piccolo when it was needed in band. I recently began learning how to play the oboe and I love it. I plan to go to college for music and theater.
This entry was posted in Blogging A-Z, Blogging A-Z 2015, College and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Dorm Life Blogging A-Z

  1. cleemckenzie says:

    Ah yes, the joys of communal living. I remember it well. I think I lasted one semester in a dorm before getting an apartment with two super wonderful roommates who have remained life-long friends.

Leave a Reply

