Mental Health Goals 2016


To bring in the new year and start getting my blog going again I am going to make my next few posts about my goals for this year. I decided to break it up into different posts because I figured it would be easier to read for everyone that way.

This year I want to make my mental and physical health a priority. Being in college I sometimes stretch myself way too thin and then I just don’t want to do anything. This year I want to make sure I am giving myself time to settle and do things I want to do rather than just focusing on school work. That doesn’t mean I’m not going to focus on school work, it just means I’m not going to let myself get burnt out.

I personally struggle with depression. Its hard for me to deal with sometimes. Sometimes its hard for me to get out of bed. That being said, this year I want to work on getting my energy up and feeling better. I struggled a lot in 2015. A lot of people in my life passed away and it got very hard for me to deal with. I have been thinking about it and there are a few things that I can do that will probably help me start to feel better and be in a better mind set.

The first thing I need to do is get organized. I need to go through all of my things and get rid of absolutely everything I don’t need. This is going to take on its own post in a few days so stay tuned.

Another thing I need to do is make sure I am setting aside time to either relax or do things I want to do like sew or craft. It will make me happier in general because I will be doing things I love to do.

I also plan on getting a planner and making schedules for myself, that way I don’t have to worry about deadlines and procrastinating and then stressing myself out. If you have any recommendations on what planner to get please leave a comment below!!

One of the most important things I need to do is something I rarely do. I need to ask for help when I need it. If I am struggling with something in school I need to ask someone to help me. I tend to just stress about it instead of trying to get help because a lot of times I feel like asking for help makes me feel like I’m incompetent which is not true at all, but just how I feel.

Once I get back to school I want to work on my sleep schedule. I want to make sure that the lights are out at a certain time so I start getting tired, and I want to also make sure that after a certain time at night I stop working. I tend to do my school work at night because that’s when I usually have the time, but I really need to start scheduling it out so that I’m not working on school work at midnight if I have to be up earlier in the morning.

If you have any other tips please let me know in the comments below. I would love to hear what you are doing for your mental health this year.

❤ always
-Victoria
http://www.perfectlyposh.com/VictoriaD

 

About music12301

I am an avid reader and writer. I love to blog about just about anything in the world that I think of. My blogs can be completely random or well thought out and planned, but never the less, they are all my own. I also love to sing and act and music is a big part of my life. I played the flute for 6 years and I also played the piccolo when it was needed in band. I recently began learning how to play the oboe and I love it. I plan to go to college for music and theater.
This entry was posted in 2016 goals/plans, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment